Europe Chapter

12 October 2018

The Europe Chapter of the International Federation of Arts Councils and Culture Agencies was formed at the fifth meeting of members from the region in Madrid in 2010, co-hosted by the Ministry of Culture of Spain.

Below, you can find information on:



The most recent meeting of the Europe Chapter took place from 16-19 October 2019 in Zagreb and Rijeka, hosted by the Ministry of Culture, Croatia. The meeting was attended by 19 senior representatives from 15 National Member institutions in the region, including Croatia, Denmark, England, Estonia, Ireland, Lithuania, Malta, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine and Wales; as well as representatives from governmental Affiliate Member institutions in the region Kultura Nova Foundation (Croatia), National Cultural Fund (Romania) and Musikverket (Sweden). During the meeting members discussed issues on interconnectivity and mobility; international exchange; and participatory governance.

The meeting also included a public forum on Friday 18 October, with speakers from the Federation who explored international perspectives on participatory approaches to arts and culture. The forum was hosted by the Ministry of Culture, Croatia in partnership with Kultura Nova Foundation and IFACCA.



The current members of the Europe Chapter are:

National Culture Fund, Bulgaria
• Ministarstvo Kulture – Ministry of Culture, Croatia
• Ministry of Education and Culture, Cyprus
• Danish Agency for Culture and Palaces, Denmark
• Arts Council England
• Estonian Ministry of Culture
• Arts Promotion Centre Finland
• Ministry of Education, Science, Culture and Sport, Georgia
• Ministry of Education, Science & Culture, Iceland
• Arts Council of Ireland – An Chomhairle Ealaíon
• Lithuanian Council for Culture
• National Culture Fund (FOCUNA), Luxembourg
• Arts Council Malta
• Council for Culture, Netherlands
• Arts Council of Northern Ireland
• Norsk Kulturråd – Arts Council Norway
• Creative Scotland
• Slovak Arts Council, Slovakia
• Ministry of Culture, Slovenia
• Ministry of Culture and Sport, Spain
• Swedish Arts Council, Sweden
• Pro Helvetia – Swiss Arts Council, Switzerland
• Ukrainian Cultural Foundation
• Cygnor Celfyddydau Cymru – Arts Council of Wales

Current affiliates of the Europe Chapter:

University of Antwerp, Cultural Management Programme, Belgium
• Kultura Nova Foundation, Croatia
• Arts and Theatre Institute, Czech Republic 
• Cultural Department, City of Aarhus, Denmark
• The Nordic Culture Fund, Denmark
• Fonds Soziokultur, Germany
• Arts Council of Greece
• Visual Artists Ireland - Ealaíontóiri Radharcacha Eire
• Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sports, Kosovo
• Dutch Culture Centre for International Cooperation, Netherlands
• The Administration of the National Cultural Fund, Romania
• National Council of Culture and Arts, Catalunya, Spain
• The Swedish Arts Grants Committee, Sweden
• Musikverket, Sweden
• Swedish Agency for Cultural Policy Analysis, Sweden
• Commonwealth Foundation, International
• International Independent Arts Council



Each IFACCA Regional Chapter has a Regional Focal Point. This is a National Member institution of the Federation that liaises with members in the region and organises a Chapter Meeting or other joint initiative. The role of Regional Focal Point is for a fixed period and is open to all National Members on a rotating basis.

The current Regional Focal Point for Europe is the Ministry of Culture, Croatia. Minister of Culture Nina Obuljen Koržinek is the official representative of the RFP and Ms Nevena Tudor Perković is the RFP Chapter Liaison.



Members in Europe have held 17 meetings to date:

  • Zagreb and Rijeka, Croatia, October 2019
  • Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, March 2019
  • Liverpool, England, October 2018
  • Aarhus, Denmark, September 2017
  • VallettaMalta, October 2016
  • Oslo, Norway, September 2015
  • Vilnius, Lithuania, September 2014
  • Santiago, Chile, January 2014
  • Edinburgh, Scotland, September 2013
  • Helsinki, Finland, June 2012
  • Melbourne, Australia, October 2011
  • Valletta, Malta, May 2011
  • Madrid, Spain, September 2010
  • Johannesburg, South Africa, September 2009
  • Copenhagen, Denmark, May 2009
  • Glasgow, Scotland, November 2008
  • Athens, Greece, November 2007