Beyond The Obvious: Annual Conference 2012

18 October 2012, Wales

9.30  Registration and tea/coffee
10.15  Opening film – Owen Sheers, the first ever WRU Artist in Residence
10.20  Welcome and introduction:
Dai Smith, Chair, Arts Council of Wales
Roger Lewis, Group Chief Executive, WRU
10.40  Keynote Speaker
Huw Lewis AM, Minister for Housing, Regeneration and Heritage
10.55  Introduction to the morning seminars: Nick Capaldi, Chief Executive, Arts Council of Wales
11.05  Seminars A

A1: The Arts Strategy – To begin at the beginning
Speaker: David Alston, Director (Arts), Arts Council of Wales.

A2: Testing theories of Public Engagement
Speaker: Danny Fayhey, Freelance.

A3: Digital Engagement
Speaker: Marcus Romer, Artistic Director, Pilot Theatre

A4: What does transformation mean to you? What is changing and how must theatre evolve to reflect those changes?
Speaker: Sheena Wrigley, Joint Chief Executive, West Yorkshire Playhouse.

A5: A discussion for venues: how can venues engage in developing, programming and supporting work for young people?
Speaker: Kate Cross, Artistic Director, The Egg Theatre
12.15 Keynote speaker: Clare Cooper, Mission Models Money
12.45 Lunch
14.00 Film montage: A remarkable year of imagination, enterprise and achievement in the arts in Wales
14.10 Keynote speaker: Joseph Smith, Executive Producer, Old Vic Productions
14.40 Seminars B

B1: A Creative Case for Diversity
Speaker: Luke Pell, Independent curator and facilitator of dance and performance. Advocate for alterity in arts and community

B2: Dance Agent for Change
Speaker: Caroline Bowditch

B3: What a political theatre looks like today? From Brecht to Bradley Manning, from Occupy to Coriolanus?
Speaker: John McGrath, Artistic Director, National Theatre Wales

B4: The Art of Gaming
Speaker: Owen Craven Griffiths, Diverse Arts.

B5: The Cultural Olympiad: The legacy debate
Chair: Gwyn L Williams, Creative Programmer, Cultural Olympiad in Wales and panellists Marc Rees, Chris Tally Evans and Larry Allan.
15.55 Keynote Speaker
Dai Smith, Chair, Arts Council of Wales.
16.30 Close