In general, each country has one National Member - usually a ministry of culture or an arts council whose primary role is to support the arts and culture through investment, promotion and policy.

Countries may have multiple Affiliate Members. Affiliate Members include sister institutions to existing National Members; intergovernmental bodies; and government agencies that operate at subnational levels including state, regional, provincial, and local government.