Our member institutions represent over 70 countries: they operate in developed and developing countries across Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and the Pacific. We offer two types of institutional membership – National and Affiliate – and we welcome new members to stand with us, unified in global commitment to arts and culture. 

If you would like more information on what we can offer your institution, the type of membership for which it is eligible, and how to join our global network, email us at [email protected] and we will be pleased to provide you with advice tailored to your institution. 


2024 National Membership Contributions



National Members are committed to the public support of arts and culture through investment, policy and promotion at a national level, with each country able to be represented by one National Member. 

Our National Members are at the centre of the Federation and its work. They share a purpose and the belief that arts and culture are a public good; they also share common priorities and professional concerns at the national level. However, our National Member institutions are diverse in nature. National Members represent arts councils and agencies, as well as ministries of culture, with an almost even balance between the two types of institution across the Federation. They represent mature institutions that have operated for more than 20 years, as well as younger institutions operating with new mandates and structures. They work within different government models, from constitutional and presidential republics to people’s republics. And they represent countries across each inhabited continent. 

These similarities and differences are a source of strength for the Federation, as members can access a wide-ranging wealth of knowledge, experience and expertise specific to supporting culture at the national level; take inspiration from different perspectives, ideas and ways of thinking; and benefit from meaningful collegial relationships with a cohort of peers who are uniquely placed to understand – and support them in – their work. National Members play an important governance role in the Federation: they nominate and elect members to the IFACCA Board and they have the right to vote at the General Assembly.



The work of the Federation is made possible primarily through fee contributions from National Members. National Membership fees are set on a sliding scale, calculated using the United Nations (UN) Scale of Assessments. A country’s National Membership fee is its UN percentage contribution, multiplied by AUD$25,000 and rounded. National Membership fees cover membership from 1 January-31 December and 2023 fees are based on the UN Scale of Assessments for 2022-2024. In some cases, National Members contribute more than their national UN Scale percentage contribution and/or support projects to enable participation from members in lower income countries. The Federation greatly values this support, which acknowledges the disparity of access to resources in its international membership. We also appreciate that in some cases an institution’s budget will differ significantly from its county’s UN contribution; in these cases the Board may consider proposals for lower fees. We ask National Member institutions with fees lower than AUD$1,000 per year to pay three years’ membership at a time.

Download our National Membership fee schedule for 2024

Download the Policy for lower fee-paying National Members (also available in Spanish and French)

Download the Policy for non-payment of membership fees


Affiliates, too, are committed to the public support of arts and culture, but they include sister institutions to existing National Members, intergovernmental bodies, and government agencies that operate at subnational levels including state, regional, provincial, and local government. The Federation can welcome multiple Affiliates from the same country.  

Our Affiliates share in the purpose and belief of the Federation and strengthen its collective vision. Affiliates contribute significant knowledge and expertise to the Federation and bring important perspectives from different levels of government that play a vital role to support the arts and culture ecosystem. However, the remits and operations of these institutions are wide-ranging and often differ significantly from those of National Members, which means their participation in our programmes and services – and governance role within the Federation – is more defined.

There are two categories of membership:

Category A applies to members from high income countries (as defined by the World Bank), excluding those in the Caribbean, Pacific and South America, and those that acceded to the European Union in 2004 or after. Category A countries are Andorra, Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Greenland, Hong Kong SAR China, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Korea, Kuwait, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Macao SAR China, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Portugal, Qatar, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States.

Category B applies to members from all other countries.

Affiliate Membership carries a fixed annual fee of AUD$3,500 for Category A members and AUD$2,000 for Category B members, which covers membership from 1 January-31 December. 

For further information, email us at [email protected]