Visual and media artists lauded

12 March 2002, Canada

The winners of the third annual Governor General's Awards for Visual and Media Arts were announced by the Canada Council for the Arts on 12 March. The seven winners – artists AA Bronson, Charles Gagnon, Edward Poitras, David Rokeby, Barbara Steinman and Irene Whitome, and art curator, collector and philanthropist Ydessa Hendeles – will receive their awards at a ceremony at Rideau Hall on 20 March. The awards will be presented by Her Excellency Adrienne Clarkson, Governor General of Canada and Chair of the Canada Council, Jean-Louis Roux. The awards, created in June 1999, are funded and administered by the Canada Council for the Arts. They recognise Canadian artists' achievements in the visual and media arts, as well as acknowledging outstanding contributions through voluntarism, philanthropy, board governance, community outreach or professional activities. Prize winners receive $15,000 and an original artwork created by Jamelie Hassan, one of last year’s winners. In a media release, Canada Council Director, Shirley L Thompson stated: 'The artists we are honouring share their experience through striking, imaginative works and enduring images that remain fixed in our minds: they interpret our land, our cities and our society. They also interpret technology – experimenting with it, gauging its effects, shaping it to convey their unique visions. We also owe a debt to curators, daring and innovative risk-takers, whose imagination and intelligence help us to a better understanding of art.' A feature of this year’s awards is that the artists work across the visual and media arts, combining approaches from different media. For detailed biographies of the laureates and selected images of the artists works, go to: